Skip to main content

Language adapted from the UNC Office of Diversity and Inclusion.

The AAC recognizes the land and sovereignty of Native and Indigenous nations in Chapel Hill, in North Carolina, in North America, and across the world. The University of North Carolina sits on the land of the Occaneechi, Shakori, Eno, and Sissipahaw peoples.

Additionally, NC has been home to many Indigenous peoples at various points in time, including the tribes/nations of: Bear River/Bay River, Cape Fear, Catawba, Chowanoke, Coree/Coranine, Creek, Croatan, Eno, Hatteras, Keyauwee, Machapunga, Moratoc, Natchez, Neusiok, Pamlico, Shakori, Sara/Cheraw, Sissipahaw, Sugeree, Wateree, Weapemeoc, Woccon, Yadkin, and Yeopim. Today, NC recognizes 8 tribes: Coharie, Lumbee, Meherrin, Occaneechi Saponi, Haliwa Saponi, Waccamaw Siouan, Sappony, and the Eastern Band Cherokee.

UNC Chapel Hill is an institution built by enslaved Africans and their enslaved descendants, and our institution did not admit Black students until 1955. Today, Black individuals and People of Color disproportionately work as service staff on our campus and in our wider society. This community is largely responsible for the maintenance on our campus, the food and food service available to us at Chapel Hill, and many other basic necessities that make our gatherings possible.

These acknowledgments frame the AAC’s commitment to education about the intersecting histories and cultures of communities of color and our plans to partner with community organizations.